Commercial Driver Training
According to the Arkansas Department of Labor, commercial truck driving is a high demand occupation. Driving a commercial motor vehicle requires a higher level of knowledge, skills and experience than for non-commercial vehicles. CDL drivers are held to a higher standard when driving any motor vehicle on the roads; serious traffic violations can affect the driver’s commercial driver license. The UACCM Commercial Driver Training Program prepares you for not only the commercial driver licenses written and skills exam, but prepares you to be a safe driver.
The CDT program at UACCM is a five-week, 160+ hour training program. This course provides the classroom instruction to pass the written test for a Class A CDL Driver’s License with an air brake endorsement and the driving skills to prepare for the driving test administered by the Arkansas State Police. Objectives covered include: Arkansas and Federal Motor Vehicle Carrier Act laws and regulations, basic tractor/trailer skills and handling, pre-trip and post-trip inspections, mileage logs, safety practices, backing, over-the-road driving, and more.
Program participants must be at least 18 years of age and be able to pass a DOT physical, background check, and drug screening. Participants must be able to read, speak, and comprehend the English language sufficiently to meet the Department of Transportation regulations. Participants may need to be available for some evening on the road training.
Upon Completion of the Program
Students will be tested by the State Police or a third party tester for their Class A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).
Application for this program must be made in person. Please set up an appointment by contacting the department at 501-977-2189 or email@example.com.
There will be additional fees for the CDL packet, which includes the written and skills exam. You will need an original birth certificate, photo id, and social security card to pick up your CDL packet. This packet can be picked up at your local Revenue Office. This fee is not included in the cost of the program and will be the responsibility of the participants.
Workforce and Community Education Registration and Refund Policy
UACCM reserves the right to cancel a class due to insufficient enrollment. If a course is canceled, students may transfer credit to an upcoming class or request a full refund of payment. All refunds will be issued by check and sent through the mail and can take up to two weeks to process. If a student is unable to attend a course, requests for refunds or transfers of 100% of payment must be made at least 24 hours prior to the first class meeting.